Parks

SIX RUNS FOR FDRC

SIX RUNS FOR FDRC

The City is preparing to break ground on a combination of soccer fields and a cricket pitch at the François Dupuis Recreation Centre.

CRICKET?🏏 ... REALLY?

  1. Cricket was Canada's first official sport
    In 1867, John A. MacDonald declared cricket Canada's first official sport. Lacrosse was appointed as the national sport a year and half later.
  2. Cricket is Canada's fastest growing sport
    There has been an explosion of interest in cricket in Canada. The sport's biggest challenge used to be lack of interest — its biggest challenge now is finding enough space to practice and play.
  3. Continue Reading

Infrastructure

Strasbourg Roundabout

Roundabout construction set to begin

Improving traffic flow on Brian Coburn Boulevard

Stephen was proud to secure the $1.8 million in the 2018 budget to have the roundabout constructed this year. This builds on the $750 million of infrastructure investments secured to benefit the residents of Cumberland Ward since 2010.

Construction of the Brian Coburn / Strasbourg roundabout is set to begin in mid-May.

“Never before have we seen so much investment in our community,” says Cumberland Councillor Stephen Blais. “The new roundabout at Strasbourg and the other intersection modifications approved for Brian Coburn Boulevard will ensure we continue to benefit from a speedy alternative to Innes Road.”

Continue Reading

Parks

Mondaria Park

New park for Summerside West

Online consultation for Mondaria Park in Summerside West

The concept plan found here and images depict the proposed park design and play equipment for a new parkette being develop in the Mer Bleue community of Summerside West Phase 2, Monardia Park. The community is invited to provide comments on the proposed concept plan, as shown below.

If you wish to provide comments please send, no later than April 11, 2018.

Mary Ellen Wood
Parks and Facilities Planning
Recreation, Cultural and Facility Services
City of Ottawa
613-580-2424 extension 16482
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

OC Transpo

USING A PRESTO CARD JUST GOT EASIER IN OTTAWA

USING A PRESTO CARD JUST GOT EASIER IN OTTAWA

There are now 66 more reasons for transit users to like Presto. Transit customers will be able to purchase monthly passes, load funds, check their balance, and set age-based discounts at 66 different Shoppers Drug Mart, Loblaws and Real Canadian Superstore locations across Ottawa.

The new retail locations are currently being rolled out in a phased approach with all stores expected to have Presto services available by the end of May, this year. For an up-to-date listing of locations, visit: octranspo.com or prestocard.ca.

“Since its adoption, I’ve been urging Metrolinks and OC Transpo to make Presto more convenient for transit users,” says Blais. “The use of retail locations in the neighbourhood will allow customers to instantly load their card with the entire suite of fare options available to them.”

Continue Reading

Rural Action

MAJOR GRANT FOR CUMBERLAND

Blais secures major grant for Cumberland Village

$13,000 for main street beautification

Stephen is proud to announce a $13,000 rural community building grant for the Cumberland Community Association to celebrate the historical legacy of Cumberland Village.

“We’ve seen a renaissance of small business along Old Montreal Road through the village,” adds Blais. “Our goal has been to draw visitors to the village through the promotion of touristic opportunities while providing the stable economic environment to encourage entrepreneurs to take a risk and open a small business.”

Continue Reading

Garbage and Recycling

FIXING THE GREEN BIN

FIXING THE GREEN BIN

City may finally allow plastic bags in the green bin

Cumberland Councillor Stephen Blais is pleased that the City is finally addressing the inherent problems with the Green Bin Program. The Green Bin Program could expand under a revised contract with Orgaworld Canada Ltd.

Blais voted against the move the bi-weekly garbage collection in 2011 because of the problems with the green bin contract and the reduction in core city services.

Continue Reading

Copyright © 2018 Stephen Blais

Parcs

SIX POINTS POUR CENTRE RÉCREATIF FRANÇOIS-DUPUIS

La Ville s’apprête à entamer la réalisation d’une combinaison de terrains de soccer et de cricket au Centre récréatif François-Dupuis.

Les terrains seront situés à l’arrière de la nouvelle caserne de pompiers no 55, sur le boulevard Portobello.

LE CRICKET?... VRAIMENT? 🏏

  1. 1. Le cricket a été le premier sport officiel du Canada
    En 1867, John A. Macdonald déclare le cricket premier sport officiel du Canada. La crosse devient le sport national un an et demi plus tard.
  2. 2. C’est le sport canadien qui connaît la plus forte croissance
    Il y a en ce moment un véritable engouement pour le cricket au Canada. Il fut un temps où l’intérêt manquait pour ce sport, mais à l’heure actuelle, on peine à trouver assez de terrains pour le pratiquer..
  3. Lire la suite

Infrastructure

CONSTRUCTION PROCHAINE DU CARREFOUR GIRATOIRE

CONSTRUCTION DU CARREFOUR GIRATOIRE

Amélioration de la circulation sur le boul. Brian-Coburn

Stephen est fier d'avoir obtenu un financement de 1,8 million de dollars dans le budget de 2018 pour faire construire le carrefour giratoire cette année. Ce montant s'ajoute aux investissements en infrastructures de 750 millions de dollars dont ont bénéficié les résidents du quartier Cumberland depuis 2010.

La construction du carrefour giratoire Brian-Coburn/Strasbourg devrait commencer à la mi-mai.

« On n'a jamais vu un investissement aussi important engagé dans notre collectivité, de dire Stephen Blais, conseiller de Cumberland. Le nouveau carrefour giratoire à Strasbourg ainsi que les autres modifications de l'intersection approuvées pour le boulevard Brian-Coburn nous permettront de continuer à bénéficier d'une solution de rechange rapide au chemin Innes. »

Lire la suite

Parcs

parc Mondaria

NOUVEAU PARC POUR SUMMERSIDE OUEST

Le plan conceptuel et les images ci-joints exposent la conception du parc proposée et illustrent l’équipement de terrain de jeux pour le nouveau mini-parc en cours d’élaboration, soit le parc Monardia, dans la communauté de Summerside-Ouest, phase 2 dans le secteur de la Mer Bleue. Nous sollicitons les commentaires du public sur le plan conceptuel proposé, comme illustré ci-après.

Veuillez soumettre vos commentaires au plus tard le 11 avril 2018.

Mary Ellen Wood
Planification des installations et des parcs
Direction générale des loisirs, de la culture et des installations
Ville d’Ottawa
613-580-2424, poste 16482
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

OC Transpo

ENCORE PLUS FACILE D'UTILISER UNE CARTE PRESTO À OTTAWA

ENCORE PLUS FACILE D'UTILISER UNE CARTE PRESTO À OTTAWA

Les usagers du transport en commun ont 66 raisons de plus d'aimer Presto. Les usagers du transport en commun pourront se procurer leur laissez-passer mensuel, charger des fonds sur leur carte Presto, vérifier leur solde et établir leur rabais selon leur âge dans 66 Shoppers Drug Mart, Loblaws et Real Canadian Superstore un peu partout dans Ottawa.

Le déploiement des nouveaux points de service dans des commerces d'Ottawa se déroule par étape et tous les magasins devraient offrir des services Presto d'ici la fin de mai, cette année. Pour une liste à jour des magasins, rendez-vous à : octranspo.com ou prestocard.ca.

« Depuis l’adoption de Presto, je fais des pressions auprès de Metrolinks et d'OC Transpo afin de rendre le programme plus pratique pour les usagers du transport en commun, dit le conseiller Blais. Ces points de service dans les quartiers permettront aux clients de charger instantanément sur leur carte toutes les options de tarification qui leur sont offertes ».

Lire la suite

Action Rurale

SUBVENTION MAJEURE POUR LE VILLAGE DE CUMBERLAND

LE CONSEILLER BLAIS OBTIENT UNE SUBVENTION MAJEURE POUR LE VILLAGE DE CUMBERLAND

13 000 $ pour l’embellissement de la rue principale

Stephen Blais, conseiller de Cumberland, est fier d’annoncer l’octroi d’une subvention de 13 000 $ pour le renforcement communautaire en milieu rural à l’Association communautaire du village de Cumberland, qui servira à mettre en valeur le patrimoine historique des lieux.

« Nous avons connu une renaissance des petites entreprises sur le chemin Old Montreal, d’un bout à l’autre du village, a ajouté le conseiller Blais. Notre objectif est d’attirer des visiteurs en faisant la promotion des possibilités de tourisme, tout en créant un environnement économique stable pour encourager les entrepreneurs à prendre un risque et à démarrer une petite entreprise. »

Lire la suite

Déchets et Recyclage

RÉGLER LA QUESTION DU BAC VERT

RÉGLER LA QUESTION DU BAC VERT

La Ville pourrait finalement permettre les sacs de plastique dans le bac vert

Stephen Blais est heureux d’annoncer que la Ville aborde enfin les problèmes inhérents au programme de bacs verts. Le programme de bacs vert pourrait être élargi aux termes d’un nouveau contrat avec Orgaworld Canada Ltd.

M. Blais a voté contre la collecte des ordures aux deux semaines en 2011 en raison des problèmes liés au contrat des bacs verts et de la diminution des services essentiels de la Ville.

Lire la suite

Copyright © 2018 Stephen Blais